Reviews

… and testimonials. Here are reviews of the band, recommendations from people that book and re-book us, as well as comments on the socials from the many, many highly discerning audience members and music lovers we cannot help attracting, talking about the Punch House Band. (Much more of this sort of stuff on our Facebook page.) [Blushing face emoji]


Norwich Eye, reviewing Crude Apache’s 2022 summer show We Will Stand, feat. Punch House Band, June 2022: ‘The estimable Punch House Band give us a strong musical backdrop to the drama, with rousing songs to start and finish the play and throughout.’


CultivatedUK, reviewing Crude Apache’s 2022 summer show We Will Stand, feat. Punch House Band, June 2022: ‘There is a sprawling 19-strong cast and a 4-piece band … the Punch House Band’s music brings atmosphere and backing’ to the play.


Sheila, landlady, The Three Horseshoes, North Cove nr. Beccles, June 2022: ‘Awesome band. Have booked them before and will book them again.’


PHB Denver roundhouse 2021Becky, birthday girl, on her private party in a roundhouse with a big open fire in the middle,  Denver, 2021: ‘It was amazing! We all loved it, I hope they coped with the smoke from the fire, the band really made the evening, couldn’t have asked for better. Thank you to you all.’


Screenshot 2020-02-11 at 15.36.19

‘The Punch House Band added some wonderful melodies’ EDP

Norwich Eye, reviewing At the Turning of the Tide, Maddermarket Theatre, January 2020: ‘It’s a musical, with rather good songs by Tim Lane and the Punch House Band.’


Lil, landlady of The Lord Rosebery, on New Year’s Eve 2019: ‘Thank you so much for last night—it was a brilliant night with a lovely atmosphere. You certainly brought and kept a crowd. A great success. Thanks again to all the boys for giving up their New Year’s Eve to play and I hope it was as enjoyable for them as it was for all who came to see them.’


Simon Larke, on the same NYE 2019 gig: ‘Fantastic night, you guys were awesome as usual, thank you.’

Dawn Maycock: ‘Was wonderful!’ [of PHB gig at The Reindeer]


Lil, landlady of the Golden Star: ‘Great live band, we had a brilliant, packed Saturday night at the Golden Star, with a great atmosphere. So good I booked them for next month [February 2019] at the Rosebery.’


Clair Rayner: ‘Had a wonderful time thank you for your entertainment :-)’


Jo Davies: ‘Great night at the Louis Marchesi with The Punch House Band.’


Nicky Turner: ‘Brilliant evening. The spontaneous ones always are.’


Jon Collorick: ‘Caught you lot last night! Brilliant gig! Thanks.’


Kevin J. Murphy, audience member & music lover: ‘Quirky. Fun band that brighten up any venue.’

PHB live tonight sign 2


Tom Carver, audience member & music lover: ‘Another entertaining gig at The Golden Star, Norwich on 2/12/2018. “The Girl Behind the Bar” could have been a Pogues song but was written by Tim Lane.’


Norwich Eye, review of Crude Apache’s 2018 summer show, At the Turning of the Tide, with songs and music from the Punch House Band (23 July 2018): ‘The show starts and finishes with a song, and the lively musical interludes help to tell the story throughout.  The Punch House Band who give the musical backdrop to this show are all Crude Apache stalwarts who help to keep the pace of the show just right.’


Liz Armstrong, landlady, The Freemasons’ Arms, Norwich: ‘The band played at our pub on the 2nd December [2017], this was a return booking following their excellent visit here in March. They are an excellent acoustic band singing both original and well known folk songs, they are a friendly, lively band who promote a brilliant atmosphere and enjoyment for all the customers in the pub and we will be booking them again later on this year.’


The Harnser, Cley, landlady/booker: the Punch House Band ‘were brilliant. Thanks for making it such a great night!… Go and see them. they’re absolutely brilliant!’


Milkmaid Folk Club logo

Jon Knight, Norwich Beer Festival entertainment manager: ‘Really glad that I booked Punch House Band [for 2017 Norwich Beer Festival at St Andrew’s Hall], good hire price and a very good audience response to their stage show, plus the er “tribute” to the Singing Postman which had a local reference but caught a wider audience.’


Milkmaid Folk Club, Bury St Edmunds, organiser: ‘some excellently written original material, all delivered with real energy and obvious enthusiasm for the job in hand. Quality musicianship and a great stage presence combined to provide a most entertaining show.’